The Best Chocolate Cake. In The World. Ever.

It was raining. I wanted cake ALL day. I had no icing so after a quick dash to the shop, I was ready to go – but what cake would I make?
Chocolate, of course. I really wanted chocolate cake.

I was still on my mission to find THE best chocolate cake, after all. And after many years of searching, I honestly believe I have found it.

How did I find it, you ask?
Well.

I turned to Google, as I do for just about everything, and keyed in those words, ‘Best Chocolate Cake Recipe’ just as I have done many times before.
I opened a few tabs and after 30 minutes of (impatient) searching, had a look at what I had opened. THREE of these tabs had the very same recipe contained within, all tried with minor changes, but all with the same title and referring back to each other in some way.
I thought gee. That cant be a coincidence, can it? Could this really be THE best chocolate cake recipe?

Let me share with you this marvellous recipe, with my own minor tweaks.

The Best Chocolate Cake
(found at I Am Baker, Lulu The Baker & Bronnie Bakes, shown here with my tweaks)

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups self-raising flour
1 3/4 caster sugar
3/4 cups cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 vegetable oil (I used extra light olive oil)
2 extra large eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 cup freshly brewed hot coffee (I used Moccona Instant)

1. Preheat oven to 180°C/356°F. Grease and line a large (mine was 13″ x 9″) cake pan (or two smaller 8″ cake pans).
2. Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder and salt into the bowl and mix until combined.
3. In another bowl, combined the buttermilk, oil, eggs and vanilla.
4. Using an electric mixer on low speed, slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. With the mixer still on low, add the coffee and stir just to combine.
Pour the mixture into prepared pans and bake for 35-40 minutes, or until a knife or skewer inserted comes out clean.
5. Cool in pan for 30 minutes, then turn onto a cooling rack to cool completely (if desired).

Nutrition: Chocolate >.<

Best Chocolate Cake 1   Best Chocolate Cake 2

Best Chocolate Cake 3   Best Chocolate Cake 4

Best Chocolate Cake 5

Tips:
- Choose a thin or slightly runnier than usual icing. This cake is so soft that a standard icing pulls it apart. You can see I chose the wrong kind of icing >.>
– In the large pan, 40 minutes was bang on perfect.
– As mentioned above, I used Olive oil (as I had no other on hand) and it was fine – I would probably recommend the extra light though, just so that the flavour doesn’t overpower the chocolate!
– Don’t skimp on the coffee. I saw someone recommended a substitute which I’m sure would work fine. Next time I will test this theory with something I have in my pantry called Ecco which is an ‘Instant cereal beverage naturally free of caffeine’ and calls itself ‘The caffeine free drink for modern families’ LOL (I’m only lolling because this was always in my pantry as a child, as our house was a caffeine-free zone, but that makes this drink very much NOT modern, in my opinion XD)

Thoughts:
-wipes crumbs from face- Oh dear. Honestly? THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE. EVER. IN THE WORLD. EVER.
It’s so soft! SOOOOOOOOO soft! And..tasty. And. Wow. This reminds me very much of a cake my mum used to make when I was a child, probably the same chocolate cake recipe she still uses (why dont I have that one? GOOD QUESTION.) I love the replacing of butter with oil in a cake, it comes out so much more moist and keeps without drying quickly.
Seriously, if you need a go-to chocolate cake recipe like I did, you have found it. Bake it today and tell me I was lying!

Repeat Offender?
I’m not even going to dignify this question with a response -continues nomming-

2 thoughts on “The Best Chocolate Cake. In The World. Ever.

Leave a Reply

