Let them eat cake!

I have a couple of things in the works at the moment, but I’d rather post about them all in one go so I will start this blog off with something yummy!

My parents came and stayed with us in late November (which was awesome by the way) and though I try to keep cake making to a minimum purely in order to save our fatty souls, I felt compelled to finish off the Sunday night roast with a lovely, freshly baked chocolate cake.
This recipe I found in the August 2012 issue of Super Food Ideas Magazine (which I’ve only recently started collecting. The magazine is super cheap and stuffed full of recipes).

Anyway, I will share it with you (with my modifications & suggestions)

Favourite Chocolate Cake

Serves 10

Prep 30 minutes (plus cooling time)
Cook 1 hour, 20 minutes

200g dark chocolate, chopped (I used Cadbury Old Gold which is 70% cocoa and therefore healthy LOL)
250g butter, chopped
1/2 cup self-raising flour
1/2 cup plain flour
1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (I left the bi-carb out)
1 & 1/2 cups raw caster sugar (I had no caster sugar on hand so I used plain old white sugar)
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3 eggs
3/4 cup buttermilk (I had no buttermilk, so I curdled some ordinary milk)
chocolate curls, to decorate (optional)

Chocolate Ganache
300g dark chocolate, chopped
3/4 cup thickened cream

1. Preheat oven to 180°C/160°C fan-forced.
Grease a 6cm-deep, 20cm (base) round cake pan. Line base and side with baking paper. (I used a square cake pan – I really must stock up on some round ones)

2. Place chocolate and butter in a small saucepan over low heat. Cook, stirring, for 10 minutes or  until melted. Set aside to cool.

3. Place flours, bicarb, sugar and sifted cocoa in a large bowl. Stir to combine.
Whisk eggs and buttermilk in a jug. Stir in buttermilk, then chocolate, into flour mixture.
Pour into prepared pan. Bake for 1 hour 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
Stand cake in pan for 15 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

4. Meanwhile, make Chocolate Ganache

Place chocolate and cream in a saucepan over low heat. Cook, stirring, for 3 to 4 minutes or until smooth.
Cover. Refrigerate for 30 minutes or until a spreadable consistency. (Note: Do not leave too long! You will have to reheat it and go through the cooling process again if it becomes too hard)

5. Split cake in half. Place base of cake onto a serving plate. Spread over half of the ganache.
Sandwich with cake top. Spread top and sides with remaining ganache. Top with chocolate curls, if using.
Stand for 10 minutes or until ganache sets slightly.
Serve.

Nutrition: 3142kj; 45.3g fat; 28.1g saturated fat; 8.3g protein; 79g carbs; 1.4g fibre; 144mg cholesterol; 341mg sodium

Tips:
– To make your own buttermilk, simply add a smidge of vinegar to ordinary milk and let sit for a few minutes (give it a slight stir)
– To make chocolate curls, run a vegetable peeler down the side of a block of chocolate (thanks to the recipe for this awesome tip!!)

End result:


choc cake november 2012 choc cake november 2012 open

choc cake november 2012 inside

Thoughts:
This cake was RICH. Seriously, mind-blowingly rich. I served it with a scoop of clean vanilla ice-cream which certainly helped cut back the richness.
Ganache doesn’t do it for me like icing does, I don’t know why. It’s nice for a filling and it makes the cake look great on the outside but..it’s just not the same as a cake lovingly smothered in super delicious icing!
The 1 hour 20 minutes wasn’t long enough for me – mind you, I was sharing the oven with a roasting leg of lamb. I ended up with a very slighlty cookie-crunchy edge – which wasn’t awful, but not the desired effect.

Repeat Offender?
Sure. Eric loved it, so did my parents. And you know, they say the way to a mans heart is through his ribcage er belly, right?

When it comes to chocolate cake, I am still searching for the perfect recipe – feel free to send me yours (in fact, PLEASE DO), I will try them all!
I only ever came close once, and would you believe…I didn’t print the recipe, I baked it directly reading from my iPad and poof. Lost it.

(Thank you SuperFood Ideas Aug 2012)

Leave a Reply

