Quinoa – Food of the Health Gods

As mentioned in one of those other posts down there somewhere -waves haphazardly- the health food kick was and has started.

So the second, I suppose if you include Fattoush as being healthy (which I do 90%) recipe Id like to share is a favourite in my household as well, but it’s really good for you. And super tasty. And simple to prepare.

What is Quinoa? Quinoa (pronounced Keen-Wah) is (according to Google)

Noun
  1. A goosefoot (Chenopodium quinoa) found in the Andes, where it was widely cultivated for its edible starchy seeds before the introduction…
  2. The grainlike seeds of this plant, used as food and in the production of alcoholic drinks.

It reminds me of semolina..kind of, in looks when its uncooked. It actually looks like un-coloured hundreds and thousands.

It has a nutty flavour I guess, I’ve honestly never had it on its own so I cant really say. Maybe I will try it..like that…some day >.>
It is gluten-free and very high in protein, fibre, phosphorous, magnesium and iron as well being a source of calcium. This is what it makes it a super food!

I’d love to try out some more quinoa recipes, I will be on a mission to do so in the coming weeks 😀

Poached Chicken, Broccolini & Pesto Quinoa (gluten-free)
(Delicious Magazine, Issue June 2012 Page 94 – recipe by Phoebe Wood)
Serves 4

Ingredients
1 cup (200gms) quinoa
1 1/2 cups (375ml) gluten-free chicken stock
4 x 170gm chicken breast fillets
2 tbs extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup (35gms) pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
1 tbs lemon juice
1/3 cup (90gms) gluten-free pesto
1 bunch broccolini, trimmed, blanched

1. Place quinoa and stock into a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to the boil, then cover and simmer for 15 minutes until tender.
Remove from heat and stand, covered, for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork.
2. Meanwhile, place chicken in a pan of simmering, salted water. Simmer gently for 5 minutes, then remove from heat, cover and stand for 15-20 minutes until cooked through.
Remove from liquid.
3. Heat 1 tbs oil in a small pan over high heat. Add pepitas and season, then cook, stirring, for 1-2 minutes until golden.
4. Shred the chicken and toss in a large bowl with lemon juice and remaining 1 tbs oil.
Season, then add the remaining ingredients and toss to combine. Transfer to a platter and serve.

Nutrition: Obviously high in protein and healthy stuff. 

Quinoa & Poached Chicken 1    Quinoa & Poached Chicken 2

Quinoa & Poached Chicken 3
Tips:
– You don’t have to make this according to the gluten-free ingredients – I’ve honestly never made it that way. Just use normal chicken stock (I’m a tight-ass and use stock cubes) and a normal pesto – I recommend Barilla.
– If your supermarket doesn’t have any broccolini in store, just use broccoli – I’ve done this a couple of times.
– When I made this last night, I used beef stock cause I didn’t realise I’d run out of chicken stock – and it tasted NO different!
– When shredding the chicken, use a couple of forks if it’s still hot – it’s a good idea to let it cool down a bit so you can shred it better with your fingers.
– Use your hands to mix it all together, it works the pesto in better that way. You can also use a bit more than the recommended dose, I tend to use at least half a cup. But be mindful, the mixture may be hot.

Thoughts:
I cooked this when I first received that issue of Delicious. Eric LOVES it. You know they love it when they say to you every week, how about that chicken quinoa thingy?
It’s quite filling, so don’t be deceived – left overs can be heated up so don’t be afraid to put it away. This is a great alternative to a pasta dish and it gives you that same mmm satisfied, comfort food feeling without being bad!

Repeat Offender?
Already is. I went through a stage of it being once a week, but it’s better as a fortnightly or even monthly meal because even good things can get a little boring!

3 thoughts on “Quinoa – Food of the Health Gods

  1. oh my gosh this looks sooo yummy! i love pesto and quinoa so this looks perfect for me to try! I’m a college student so I am always trying to look for quick and easy healthy recipes to cook at my apartment. And quinoa recipes always seems to be my go-to. I posted a quinoa cup/frittata recipe I made recently just a couple days ago : )
    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

